Wellington City Libraries

Te Matapihi Ki Te Ao Nui

Search options

Wellington District Deeds Reproduced from Turton's Deeds 1878

Related resources

Digitisation source

A number of North Island purchase deeds were reproduced in Māori Deeds of Land Purchases in the North Island of New Zealand — two volumes, by H Hanson Turton, in 1878. These are commonly called Turton's Deeds, and those that relate to Te Whanganui-a-Tara are what we've represented in text form in this section of the website.

An Epitome of Official Documents Relative to Native Affairs and Land Purchases in the North Island of New Zealand, compiled and edited by H. Hanson Turton. Maori Deeds of Land Purchases in the North Island of New Zealand. Vol. II, Provinces of Taranaki, Wellington, and Hawke's Bay. [1878]

You can also find Turton's Deeds with original scanned pages on the New Zealand Electronic Text Collection.

Content note:

We've tried to add scans of maps relating to the deeds where possible — these are also sourced from The Epitome of Official Documents. For further context around these documents we refer you to the final report for Waitangi Claim 145 (WAI 145).

We've attempted to also provide specific links to parts of the Tribunal Report for the different deeds, and to other inquiry documents where available.

Te Whanganui a Tara me ona takiwa : Report on the Wellington District (2003)


I — Wellington District

ChroNo.gical deed index from Turton's Deeds, with deed names, dates, and links to html versions of each deed
Deeds — No. 1.   Port Nicholson Block (Original purchase), Wellington District 27 September 1839.
(Also includes the 1844 'Deed of release')
Deeds — No. 2.   Lease of Part of Town Section No.514, Lambton Quay, Wellington to Richard Barrett 22 April 1842
Deeds — No. 3.   Heretaunga Block, Hutt District 12 November 1844
Deeds — No. 4.   Te Aro (Colonel McCleverty's Deed) 22 March 1847
Deeds — No. 5.   Waiwhetu (Colonel McCleverty's Deed) 30 August 1847
Deeds — No. 6.   Ngahauranga Block 4 October 1847
Deeds — No. 7.   Te Aro No. (McCleverty's Agreement) 7 October 1847
Deeds — No. 8.   Pitone block (McCleverty's Agreement) 13 October 1847
Deeds — No. 9.   Ohariu and Makara block (McCleverty's Deed) 18 October 1847
Deeds — No. 10.   Pipitea block (McCleverty's Deed) 1 November 1847
Deeds — No. 11.   Kaiwharawhara block (Memorandum) No date
Deeds — No. 12.   Ohariu Block (Four Native Reserves) December 1859
Deeds — No. 13.   Te Aro Pa, Lots 1,2,7 and 8 10 May 1873
Deeds — No. 14.   Te Aro Pa, Lot 20 12 August 1873
Deeds — No. 15.   Tekamaru Block, Ohariu 25 August 1873
Deeds — No. 16.   Te Aro Pa, Lot 15 23 September 1873
Deeds — No. 17.   Orongorongo Block, sections 1-5 8 November 1873
Deeds — No. 18.   Part of Ohariu Native Reserve (Agreement) 17 March 1874
Deeds — No. 19.   Te Aro Pa, Lots 89 and 90 24 March 1874
Deeds — No. 20.   Te Aro Pa, Lot 28 27 March 1874
Deeds — No. 21.   Te Aro Pa, Lot 16 and 17 13 May 1874

Korero o te Wa I Raraunga I Rauemi I Te Whanganui a Tara I Whakapapa